Week 10

This week I’m heading back to my Vietnamese roots with a post about food with a Vietnamese twist.

The great Momofuku restaurants yields a bakery called The Crack Pie. Now I’m not sure if it actually contains crack, but I have to assume it’s just that good. Now here comes the Vietnamese twist. This recipe for crack pie has Vietnamese coffee in it, aka the best coffee in the world. It’s strong, and has a nice touch of sweetness from the condensed milk. Pour that over a glass of crushed ice and you have the best drink besides you for breakfast, lunch, and even dinner.

Now to get to the real exciting part, the recipe. I’ve never had crack pie before, but this recipe makes me want to hop to a 24 hour Walmart and buy the ingredients I need to make it. It looks delicious and I would bet all the money in my wallet that it tastes divine. Chef David Chang would be proud of this recipe, and so would Chef Christina Tosi, the head chef of the Momofuku Milk Bar, the home of the Crack Pie. Here’s a nice photo of the Vietnamese Coffee Crack Pie and a link for the recipe.

http://gastronomyblog.com/2012/05/16/vietnamese-coffee-crack-pie/

~ by billychung5 on June 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
