Week 8

Back again with another unique recipe! About a year ago I stumbled on a recipe for Basil Lemonade during my independent study in high school. I was curious on how it would taste so I decided to make it in class. The recipe calls for a ridiculous amount of Basil for the Basil Syrup, but man do you taste the Basil. In total time it takes about 30 minutes, but I wanted to add another dimension of flavor by adding in my own little twist with a Orange syrup that is topped onto the drink. I really enjoyed it, but my friends… well not so much. It did not matter, they were used to eating french fries in large amounts.

Here’s the recipe that I used to make the Basil Lemonade

http://www.itsjustchicken.com/spring/basil-lemonade#.T7v5XDu74bE

And here’s the quick recipe for the Orange syrup.

2 cups of Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice, that’s it!

Place the orange juice in a 2 quart sauce pan and bring to a boil. Reduce the liquid down to 1/2 cup. Chill before serving. depending on how many drinks you can make will determine how much of the Orange Syrup you want to use, or just use as much as you want. For a different kind of orange flavor try using Blood Oranges, they’re phenomenal!

~ by billychung5 on May 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
