Week 7

Last Sunday I started an independent project in school with one of my past chef instructors, Chef Fuss. Being my Culinary Skills II teacher, I really wanted his help on this project. The project I was working on was a Dr. Pepper BBQ sauce, sounds interesting right? After looking online for a recipe that I hoped would work out, I went into his class and started on it. After about an   hour of preparing the sauce, it turned out to taste more on the tomato side and not a single hint of Dr. Pepper. Both Chef Fuss and I were disappointed on that fact, so to make my time there more valuable, Chef Fuss gave me a tip to just start with making a Dr. Pepper reduction that would be used as the base for the sauce.

The ingredients included:

18 oz of Dr. Pepper

4 – 1/4 inch slices of Ginger

3 Scallions, just the white part, cut in half vertically

3 Garlic cloves smashed

and 1 Tablespoon of Ketchup.

I put all of it in a pot and let that reduce down to 4 oz. the flavor that was in that reduction was unbelievable, and it was only the base! Flavor wise, it was much better than the completed sauce I made earlier. From that reduction I now have to build it into a BBQ sauce. Did I mention this sauce is for a July 4th event? Yeah that’s why I am making it in the first place. Wish me luck! And by the way, I was not able to take a picture of the product since it was not complete. I will have one when it does and it will be in another post.

~ by billychung5 on May 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
